Stetsons

My old friend wore a lot of hats.

He worked as a gold miner before he went off to fight in the Army in the second World War. He earned himself more than a few medals and swept a beautiful young girl off her feet at the USO. A glimpse of her smile melted his heart down into his combat boots, and he came home and married her.

Later on, he drove an old green truck hauling logs. A guy can still hear old truckers out west spin yarns about a death-defying trek he took with his load through a treacherous mountain pass. He helped build a barge that was a part of the construction of the Alaskan pipeline. He ran a grain elevator, and built his own motel.

When he retired, he bought a dairy farm in South Dakota.

True, my friend wore a lot of hats. But the old cowboy wore only two Stetsons.

::

If you stopped at the farm to visit, you’d find him tinkering. He might be trying to rebuild his barn that burned down. Or maybe he was working in the garden. He’d be busy with his hands. And he’d be wearing his old work Stetson, worn soft and stained with dirt and sweat.

But when he came to town for church, his bride made sure he’d spiffed himself up. Those days he wore a crisp, clean Stetson — the one he stored in the box except when they went somewhere special. The Sunday Go to Meetin’ hat.

Then he got sick, to the point where he was in the hospital more than home, so his family moved him back to the farm, where he wanted more than anything to be. His sweet wife of 64 years pulled in close, waiting and watching until the very end.

When we all got together to send him off, the cowboy’s Stetsons stood vigil on the altar at the front of the church. After a fitting tribute to the man of myths and legends, their children helped his delicate bride to her feet. As she passed by the altar, she lifted the crumpled felt hat in her hands and held it to her face.

Whether she meant to brush past it with a kiss or take in the scent of her cowboy one last time, she clutched the battered hat that embodied her groom, now absent, then laid it back to rest on the table and turned to go.

::

Posting as part of The High Calling’s February writing project hosted by Jennifer Lee. Read more about it, and some great posts on the “joys and struggles of marriage” here.

Photo: Ride the sunset by Omar Franco

24 responses

  1. I loved this. And, of course, it made me cry. This is the first post of yours that I’ve read, but I’ll be coming back for seconds. Thanks.

    2012/02/06 at 7:06 PM

    • Good call, Teresa. You’ll want to return again and again. Trust me. 🙂

      2012/02/06 at 10:49 PM

    • Thanks Teresa, it’s nice to meet you here.

      2012/02/07 at 8:33 AM

  2. What a beautifully etched small gem of a portrait. My husband and I each have a hat that our dads wore. Something about hats elicits such rich memories and even sensory recall. Thanks, Lyla, as always.

    2012/02/06 at 7:53 PM

    • Hoping he doesn’t argue with me about it here and remind me of something I’ve forgotten, but my dad has never been much of a hat guy. He did switch to cowboy boots for the years he lived in South Dakota, though. 😉

      I think it’s fantastic you two have those hats.

      2012/02/07 at 8:35 AM

  3. I never met this man but, somehow, I know you’ve captured him here. I would have been undone, seeing her clutch that hat.

    BTW–the Swede and I both have Stetsons.

    2012/02/06 at 8:04 PM

    • Somehow, my friend, this doesn’t surprise me. Not in the slightest.

      2012/02/07 at 8:36 AM

  4. You captured the life of a good man so well Lyla. He reminds me of men I know who are strong and sturdy. Men I admire. Life well lived.

    2012/02/06 at 8:43 PM

  5. Betty

    I sure do miss those two! They were such a neat couple and always, always such an encouragement in our church! What a lovely tribute to a fine man!

    2012/02/06 at 8:50 PM

    • I do too, Betty. I do too. She made her way to the sound booth to greet me every Sunday morning.

      2012/02/07 at 8:37 AM

  6. That hat tells quite a story, when you spin it. Thank you, Lyla, for this fine glimpse.

    2012/02/06 at 9:29 PM

    • Thanks Sheila. The hats always did tell quite a story.

      2012/02/07 at 8:38 AM

  7. You know how I feel about this story. What a picture of devotion and lifelong love. If I had a Stetson, I’d tip it to you, my friend.

    Beautifully told.

    2012/02/06 at 10:51 PM

    • You don’t have a Stetson? Perhaps Nancy can loan you hers, for when you wear those boots.

      2012/02/07 at 8:38 AM

  8. DAD

    I too knew this couple. They embodied the spirit, simpler and less hurried life in small town America/South Dakota. Lyla and Jennifer continue to capture that spirit in prose and photos.

    Paul W

    2012/02/07 at 8:15 AM

  9. mom

    ok…ok!! Your dad does have a cowboy hat…. not a stetson altho it looks like one… it tells many stories of South Dakota. It moved from Huron or Milbank to the Twin Cities. Maybe it’s time for it to move back to South Dakota? I’ll keep the man, tho:>)

    2012/02/07 at 8:57 AM

    • I was thinking that once upon a time he had a cowboy hat. But I don’t remember him wearing it too often. I more readily see him in the golf cap these days.

      We’ll let you keep him, Mom. Nobody’s gonna mess up the good thing you two have going.

      2012/02/07 at 9:01 AM

  10. Lovely.
    Just lovely.

    2012/02/07 at 5:42 PM

  11. good ♥

    2012/02/07 at 10:02 PM

  12. This, of course, made me all teary-eyed.

    2012/02/08 at 3:38 PM

  13. DAD

    OK OK, I’m not really a cowboy… I just found the hat!!

    Dad

    2012/02/10 at 2:38 PM

  14. This is so real and respectful, a celebration of life. Did you share this with any of his family?

    It should be printed and framed and hung on the wall next to the Stetsons, which I do hope are hanging on hooks in a place of honor somewhere, in a grandchild’s family room, perhaps?

    So glad you linked this to the writing project, Lyla.

    2012/02/12 at 1:43 PM

But that's just me. What do you think?